The Role of Metabolite-sensing G Protein-Coupled Receptors in inflammation and metabolic disease

Research output: Contribution to journalArticle

Authors

  • Carlota Recio
  • Daniel Lucy
  • Poppy Iveson
  • Sophia Valaris
  • Graham Wynne
  • Angela J Russell
  • Robin Choudhury
  • Chris O'Callaghan
  • Claudia Monaco
  • David Robert Greaves

Colleges, School and Institutes

External organisations

  • University of Oxford, Sir William Dunn School of Pathology, Oxford, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland ; carlota.recio@path.ox.ac.uk.
  • University of Oxford, Department of Chemistry, Oxford, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland ; daniel.lucy@balliol.ox.ac.uk.
  • University of Oxford, Sir William Dunn School of Pathology, Oxford, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland ; poppy.iveson@hertford.ox.ac.uk.
  • University of Oxford, Sir William Dunn School of Pathology, Oxford, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland ; sophia.valaris@path.ox.ac.uk.
  • University of Oxford, Department of Chemistry, Oxford, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland ; graham.wynne@chem.ox.ac.uk.
  • University of Oxford, Department of Chemistry, Oxford, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland ; angela.russell@chem.ox.ac.uk.
  • University of Oxford, Radcliffe Department of Medicine, Oxford, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland ; robin.choudhury@cardiov.ox.ac.uk.
  • University of Oxford, Nuffield Department of Medicine, Oxford, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland ; chris.ocallaghan@ndm.ox.ac.uk.
  • University of Oxford, Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology, Oxford, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland ; claudia.monaco@kennedy.ox.ac.uk.
  • University of Oxford, Sir William Dunn School of Pathology , South Parks Road , Oxford, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland , OX1 3RE ; david.greaves@path.ox.ac.uk.

Abstract

Great attention has been placed on the link between metabolism and immune function giving rise to the term "immunometabolism". It is widely accepted that inflammation and oxidative stress are key processes that underlie metabolic complications during obesity, diabetes and atherosclerosis. Therefore, identifying the mechanisms and mediators that are involved in the regulation of both inflammation and metabolic homeostasis is of high scientific and therapeutic interest. G protein-coupled receptors (GPCRs) that signal in response to metabolites have emerged as attractive therapeutic targets in inflammatory disease. In this review, we discuss recent findings about the physiological role of the main metabolite-sensing GPCRs, their implication in immunometabolic disorders, their principal endogenous and synthetic ligands and their potential as drug targets in inflammation and metabolic disease.

Details

Original languageEnglish
JournalAntioxidants & Redox Signaling
Early online date8 Nov 2017
Publication statusPublished - Jul 2018

Keywords

  • Journal Article