2017 Joseph Whitworth Award

Prize: Prize (including medals and awards)

Pavel Penchev (Recipient), Stefan Dimov (Recipient), Debajyoti Bhaduri (Recipient), Leung Soo (Recipient) & Benoit Crickboom (Recipient)

This is a prestigious prize awarded for the best paper on a manufacturing industries mechanical engineering subject published by the Institution in the previous year or for a contribution or for achievement in that field.

The Manufacturing Industries Division Board of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers, awarded the 2017 Joseph Whitworth Award, for the following paper: Generic software tool for counteracting the dynamic effects of optical beamdelivery systems. Proceedings of IMechE Part B: Journal of Engineering Manufacture 2017, Vol 231, Issue 1, 2017; pp. 48–64.

Prize presentation: The award consists of £333 prize money and a certificate. The prize will be presented on Tuesday 12 June 2018 at the Institution of Mechanical Engineers. The presentation will take place at the start of the Alastair Bryce Memorial Lecture.
Awarded date12 Jun 2018
Granting OrganisationsManufacturing Industries Division Board, Institution of Mechanical Engineers
Awarded at eventAlastair Bryce Memorial Lecture