2016 ESC Guidelines for the management of atrial fibrillation developed in collaboration with EACTS: The Task Force for the management of atrial fibrillation of the European Society of Cardiology (ESC). Developed with the special contribution of the European Heart Rhythm Association (EHRA) of the ESC. Endorsed by the European Stroke Organisation (ESO).

Paulus Kirchhof, Stefano Benussi, Dipak Kotecha, Anders Ahlsson, Dan Atar, Barbara Casadei, Manuel Castella, Hans-Christoph Diener, Hein Heidbuchel, Jeroen Hendriks, Gerhard Hindricks, Antonis S Manolis, Jonas Oldgren, Bogdan Alexandru Popescu, Ulrich Schotten, Bart Van Putte, Panagiotis Vardas, Authors/Task Force Members

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review

1166 Citations (Scopus)
444 Downloads (Pure)
Original languageEnglish
Early online date27 Aug 2016
Publication statusE-pub ahead of print - 27 Aug 2016


  • appendage occlusion
  • Left atrial ablation
  • Pulmonary vein isolation
  • Valve repair
  • AF surgery
  • Catheter ablation
  • Upstream therapy
  • Antiarrhythmic drugs
  • Rhythm control
  • Cardioversion
  • Rate control
  • Guidelines
  • Atrial fibrillation
  • Anticoagulation
  • Vitamin K antagonists
  • Non vitamin-K-antagonist oral anticoagulants
  • Left atrial

Cite this